Activity 2. After watching the two videos, write a post about your digital footprint. Is it positive or negative? Would you be proud to have your grandparents or your future grandchildren look at everything you have included in your digital footprint? Why or why not?

I don’t believe I have done anything inappropriate online so I have nothing to be ashamed of. My digital footprint would be nothing but pretty big. Although I haven’t done anything bad digitally wise, I still find it very creep and wrong that people can check up on what websites you’ve been on.

Activity 3. Imagine you are debating this topic: It is better to have a negative digital footprint than no footprint at all. Give three reasons to support each side of the debate. 

My strongest reason to having a negative digital footprint is that if something awful were to happen to you then investigators could possibly find out how that happened. You could meet a new friend online. (Can’t think of another reason for this bit.)

A few of the reasons I have for not owning a digital footprint is you know you definitely will not have a stalker. Secondly you will have the privacy that you are entitled to. No, one will bother you online.

Activity 4.  With so many students now involved in social media such as facebook, instagram, pinterest and twitter, how much information are they leaving by not checking their privacy settings but leaving things on default? 

Many websites assume you want your location public but you don’t, by not checking these settings you could inform people where you are at that time. You could also give more private information out to the world if you do not check your settings.

Activity 5. Write a post about 5 of your favourite web tools or apps. In your post mention how old you need to be to use it, whether you had to sign up to use it and what type of tool or app it is e.g. mind mapping, poll/survey, slideshow. Also tell me why you enjoy using the tool or app.

  • https://www.pizap.com – PiZap: An online editing app that doesn’t require any sign up or age limit. I enjoy using this app because it helps me put image on a layout easily.
  • https://kahoot.it/#/ – Kahoot Quiz:  A simple way to create quizzes and surveys, this website does need you to sign up. Kahoot is an enjoyable and entertaining way to quiz your friends and family.
  • https://prezi.com – Prezi: A unique website that allows you to create and customise a unique presentation, this website requires a sign up which is very simple to create. I enjoy this app because it’s just a unique way to present something.
  • http://www.thesaurus.com/browse/search?s=t – Thesaurus: A simple no sign up thesaurus. I love this app because when you’re to lazy to get an actual Thesaurus you can just use an online version.
  • https://nz.ixl.com/math/ – IXL: A maths and english site, this page dose need you to sign up and pay a certain amount of money to become a member. I like this site because when I’m bored I have nothing else to do.